July 22, 2015

Expanded Family Discovery Days promises great fun for the entire family!

Discovery Harbour will expand its successful Family Discovery Days to a full weekend with jam-packed family fun on Saturday July 25th and Sunday July 26th!

The two-day event will provide a fun, interactive day for families with great activities, music, and demonstrations.  Children’s music and entertainment is featured throughout the weekend, with kid’s singing sensations Sonshine and Broccolli performing an energy-packed and interactive program both days. Juggling Joe returns to amaze with his acrobatic juggling feats – you can even learn to juggle with Joe throughout the weekend!

Through cheap trickery and real magic, master ventriloquist, Tim the Puppet Tamer will convince audiences of the dangers of taming ferocious and uncooperative puppets! A combination of Clown, Circus and Improvisation, this show brings the best in live theatre to life!

Mabel Moon also returns with her amazing face painting and unique designs. Music will include Discovery Harbour’s own Salty Sailor Singers performing sea shanties throughout the day.

On Saturday, don’t miss the swashbuckling magic of Captain Corbin, who will perform twice throughout the day on the historic site. Also on Saturday, the Penetanguishene Fire Department will show their colours with their aerial truck and vintage engine.  

See and hear real black powder fired from Penetanguishene Bay aboard the H.M.S. Badger – and take cover on our own Tall Ships, the H.M.S. Tecumseth and H.M.S. Bee! Adults and kids will love the superb collection of model boats displayed by the Metro Marine Modellers – you can even see a 200 year-old ship wreck in our new H.M.S. Tecumseth Centre!

All weekend long, activities on the historic site include 19th century games, quill pen writing, blacksmithing demonstrations, and tours of the original 1836 Officers’ Quarters.  

Children can make their own pirate hats in the Sailor’s Barracks, as well as construct a simple wooden ship model to take home in the Children’s Centre. Families can operate lively dancing marionettes known as Bonhome Gigeurs, and enjoy a special interactive craft area by the Métis Nation of Ontario.

Tasty food will be available from an on-site BBQ hosted by Captain Roberts’ Table Restaurant.

Family Discovery Days is at Discovery Harbour on Saturday, July 25th and Sunday July 26th. For further information on the event and activities happening all summer long at Discovery Harbour, please visit hhp.on.ca or follow us on Twitter via @discoveryharbr or on Facebook at Discovery Harbour.

February 19th, 2015

Huronia Historical Parks Welcomes New General Manager

Will Baird has been selected as the new General Manager of Huronia Historical Parks (HHP). His appointment takes effect March 2nd, 2015.

Baird joins HHP from the St. Lawrence Parks Commission, where he was Manager of Fort Henry. Since joining the Kingston attraction in 2001, his contributions included leading business transformation which resulted in a 35% net financial improvement over three years, the design and build of the new Fort Henry Discovery Centre and management of a $5 million capital restoration maintenance program committee in partnership with Parks Canada.

“Will is highly regarded as a credible leader, who initiates and models innovation, inclusiveness and creativity. His direct experience in tourism and heritage site operational management will be assets as he assumes his new leadership responsibilities with Huronia Historical Parks”, noted Assistant Deputy Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, Morah Fenning, who led the open recruitment process.

In his current role as Manager at Fort Henry, Baird operates in a diverse, multi-stakeholder environment, frequently liaising with Boards, community partners and various business sectors. States Baird “Sainte-Marie among the Hurons and Discovery Harbour play a key role in the tourism and business landscape of Southern Georgian Bay. I value the importance of positive relationships with local community partners such as regional towns and municipalities and their stakeholders, and have a strong commitment to regional involvement in all aspects of business delivery”.

He views the stewardship of provincial cultural heritage attractions as an important responsibility as well. “Both Sainte-Marie and Discovery Harbour are found on their original locations with significant heritage assets and archaeological resources that must be protected. They belong to future generations of Ontarians and are important to our social, economic and cultural well-being”, commented Baird.

Prior to becoming Manager of Fort Henry, Baird was the Coordinator of Special Events, Promotions and Sponsorships at the historic site. Today Fort Henry hosts over 130 event days annually, due in part to the growth of events coordinated by Baird, such as Fort Fright, The Fort Henry Tattoo, Sunset Ceremony 3D wall projection and Sport tourism initiatives.

From 2006 to 2012, Baird was also a Professor at St. Lawrence College, where he designed and taught the Special Event Management Program, and contributed to both the School of Hospitality & Tourism Management and Heritage & Cultural Tourism programs.

Baird will be moving to the Southern Georgian Bay area with his wife and 2 teenagers. His hobbies include running marathons, cycling, and triathlons as well as playing all kinds of music. “I am really looking forward to embracing Southern Georgian Bay and exploring the trails in the area by foot or by bike” said Baird.

Huronia Historical Parks operates Sainte-Marie among the Hurons in Midland and Discovery Harbour in Penetanguishene. Both historic sites are attractions of the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport. For more information please visit hhp.on.ca or call 705 526-7838.

Media Contact
Gary Molnar, Manager - Marketing, New Media and Visitor Services
Huronia Historical Parks
Gary.Molnar@ontario.ca
(705) 528-7696

Archived Media Releases

• 2014-2015 Media Releases
 

 
 
 
 
Facebook Icon Facebook Twitter IconTwitter

22 juillet 2015

Les journées des découvertes familiales améliorées promettent beaucoup de plaisir pour la famille en entier!

Le Havre de la découverte transformera ses Journées familiales de la découverte en un événement d’une fin de semaine doté d’un programme chargé d’activités familiales amusantes le samedi 25 juillet et le dimanche 26 juillet!

L’événement de deux jours garantira une journée amusante et interactive pour les familles grâce aux formidables activités, à la musique et aux démonstrations. De la musique et des divertissements pour enfants seront offerts tout au long de la fin de semaine par l’entremise des sensations de la musique pour enfant Sonshine and Broccolli qui offriront un programme énergique et interactif pendant les deux journées. Juggling Joe reviendra afin d’émerveiller avec ses prouesses acrobatiques de jonglerie – vous pourrez même apprendre à jongler avec lui tout au long de la fin de semaine.

Grâce à ses ruses et à de la vraie magie, le maître ventriloque Tim the Puppet Tamer convaincra le public des dangers associés à apprivoiser des marionnettes féroces et très peu coopératives. Une combinaison de clowneries, de cirque et d’improvisation, ce spectacle donne vie à l’essence du théâtre en direct!

Mabel Moon reviendra également avec ses incroyables maquillages et ses designs uniques. La musique sera assurée entre autres par les « Salty Sailor Singers » du Havre de la découverte qui présenteront des chants marins tout au long de la journée.

Le samedi, ne manquez pas la magie de pirate du Capitaine Corbin, qui s’offrira à deux reprises tout au long de la journée sur le site historique. Également le samedi, le Service des incendies de Penetanguishene déploiera ses couleurs avec son élévateur à nacelle monté sur camion et son moteur d’époque.  

Vous verrez et entendrez de la poudre noire se faire tirer depuis la baie de Penetanguishene depuis le H.M.S. Badger – et vous pourrez vous abriter à bord de l’un de nos grands voiliers, le H.M.S. Tecumseth et le H.M.S. Bee! Les adultes et les enfants adoreront la superbe collection de bateaux modèles mis en démonstration par les « Metro Marine Modellers » – vous pourrez même voir une épave de 200 ans dans notre nouveau Centre H.M.S. Tecumseth!

Tout au long de la fin de semaine, les activités du site historique incluront des jeux du 19e siècle, de l’écriture à la plume d’oie, des démonstrations d’ouvrage de forge ainsi que des visites des quartiers des officiers originaux datant de 1836.  
Les enfants pourront créer leurs propres chapeaux de pirate dans les casernes des marins. Au Centre des enfants, ils pourront construire un modèle de navire en bois qu’ils pourront même ramener à la maison. Enfin, les familles pourront donner vie à des marionnettes dansantes appelées Bonhome Gigeurs et profiter d’une zone d’artisanat interactive spéciale offerte par la Nation métisse de l’Ontario.

De la nourriture délicieuse sera disponible grâce à un BBQ sur le site organisé par le restaurant Captain Roberts’ Table.

Les Journées familiales de la découverte auront lieu au Havre de la découverte le samedi 25 juillet et le dimanche 26 juillet. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l’événement et des activités qui se dérouleront tout l’été au Havre de la découverte, veuillez consulter le site hhp.on.ca ou nous suivre sur Twitter à @discoveryharbr ou sur Facebook à Discovery Harbour.

 

19 février, 2015

Les Parcs historiques de la Huronie souhaitent la bienvenue à un nouveau directeur général


Will Baird a été choisi à titre de nouveau directeur général des Parcs historiques de la Huronie (PHH). Il entrera en fonction à compter du 2 mars 2015.

M. Baird se joint aux PHH après avoir ؔؔœuvré à titre de gestionnaire du Fort Henry au sein de la Commission des parcs du Saint-Laurent. Depuis qu’il s’est joint à cet attrait touristique de la ville de Kingston en 2001, il a entre autres participé à une transformation commerciale qui a mené à une amélioration financière nette de 35 % sur trois ans, à la conception et à la construction du nouveau Centre des découvertes de Fort Henry et à la gestion d’un comité des programmes de financement, de restauration et d’entretien de 5 millions de dollars en partenariat avec Parcs Canada.

« Will est perçu par beaucoup comme un leader incroyable qui déclenche et façonne l’innovation, l’inclusion et la créativité. Son expérience directe de la gestion opérationnelle des sites touristiques et patrimoniaux constituera un atout dans le cadre de ses nouvelles responsabilités de direction à la tête des Parcs historiques de la Huronie », a remarqué la sous-ministre adjointe du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport, Morah Fenning qui a dirigé le processus de recrutement externe.

Dans son rôle actuel à titre de gestionnaire du Fort Henry, M. Baird travaille dans un environnement diversifié comptant de multiples intervenants. Il entretient fréquemment des rapports avec des comités, des partenaires de la collectivité et différents secteurs commerciaux. M. Baird a tenu à déclarer : « Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons et Discovery Harbour jouent un rôle clé dans le portrait touristique et commercial du secteur sud de la baie Georgienne. Je trouve important d’établir des liens positifs avec les partenaires de la collectivité locale, tels que les villes et les municipalités régionales et leurs intervenants. De plus, j’ai fait preuve d’un engagement robuste afin d’encourager l’implication régionale dans tous les aspects de la prestation de services. »

Il considère également l’intendance des attraits patrimoniaux culturels provinciaux comme une responsabilité importante. « Tant Sainte-Marie que Discovery Harbour se trouvent sur leurs sites originaux où l’on trouve d’importants atouts patrimoniaux et des ressources archéologiques notables qui doivent être protégées. Ils appartiennent aux  générations futures d’Ontariens et sont importants pour notre mieux-être social, économique et culturel », a commenté M. Baird.

Avant de devenir gestionnaire du Fort Henry, M. Baird a joué le rôle de coordonnateur des événements spéciaux, des promotions et des partenariats de ce site historique. À présent, le Fort Henry accueille plus de 130 journées-événements chaque année, partiellement en raison de la croissance des événements coordonnés par M. Baird, tels que Fort Fright, le tattoo annuel à Fort Henry, la série de Cérémonies du Crépuscule du Patrimoine Mondial et les initiatives de tourisme sportif.  

De 2006 à 2012, M. Baird a également enseigné au Collège Saint-Laurent, où il a conçu et enseigné le programme de gestion d’événements spéciaux et contribué au programme de gestion de l’accueil et du tourisme et au programme du patrimoine et du tourisme culturel.

M. Baird déménagera dans la région du sud de la baie Georgienne avec sa femme et ses deux adolescents. Ses passe-temps incluent courir le marathon, faire du cyclisme et participer à des triathlons. Il aime également pratiquer toutes sortes de genres musicaux. « J’attends impatiemment de m’installer dans la région du sud de la baie Georgienne et d’explorer les sentiers de la région à pied ou à bicyclette », a déclaré M. Baird.

Les Parcs historiques de la Huronie exploitent Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons à Midland et Discovery Harbour à Penetanguishene. Les deux sites historiques sont des attraits du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport de l’Ontario. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter www.hhp.on.ca ou composer le (705) 526-7838.

Renseignements aux médias :
Diane Archambault
Parcs historiques de la Huronie
Ligne directe : (705) 528-7694 

 

Archives

• Communiqués de presse 2014-2015
 

 

 
 
 
 
Facebook Icon Facebook Twitter IconTwitter